Siege graphics: heroism, routine life, memory

21 Jan–26 Feb 2020All exhibitions
THE MAIN BUILDING
Exhibition
Free
Description

The exhibition presents the works by the artists who survived the siege of Leningrad - Elena Marttila, Nikolai Muratov, Alexei Pakhomov, Alexander Kharshak and other authors. Among these works, there are finished works and sketches that are far from the canons of Soviet official art. Some works will be exhibited for the first time.


The value of the works presented at the exhibition is that they were created by the witnesses of the events. The exhibition tells about the tragedy of the siege through the experience and memories of people who lived and worked in the besieged city. Among the drawings and engravings, there are natural sketches, portraits and landscapes. They reflect the everyday life of Leningrad, the suffering and heroism of its defenders.


A special place in the museum collection of besieged art is occupied by the works of Elena Oskarovna Marttila (born 1923). The artist studied and worked in the besieged city until 1943, having survived the hardest days of siege. It was the time when she painted portraits of the famous contemporaries - poet Olga Berggolts and composer Dmitry Shostakovich. Marttila's works were not officially recognised for a long time - they were too emotional and tragic. The exhibition presents autolithographs from the series "Leningraders 1941 - 1942".


From the first days of the war, Leningrad artists, together with the inhabitants of the city, carried out the work on the disguise of buildings and monuments, on packaging for the evacuation of museum property, built defensive structures. Theatrical artist Tatiana Viesel (1904 - 1976) took part in the preservation of architectural and artistic monuments of Leningrad. In a small drawing in ink, made during the works on the Admiralty spire, Wiesel depicted her partner - Olga Afanasyevna Firsova, who from the beginning of the siege was engaged in disguise of monuments, and then their restoration. Both women were alpinists in peacetime, and these sports skills were useful in wartime.


Typical natural sketches throughout the siege were made by Nikolai Muratov (1908 - 1992). The artist is known as one of the organizers of the creative association "Battle Pencil", author of many political posters. Quick sketches depicting a combat unit near Smolny or a sieged tramway show how the city lived in the wartime.


One of the most impressive anti-war works at the exhibition is an etching of "The Wounded Child" by Alexander Isaakovich Kharshak (1908 - 1989). The basis for it was a drawing for the newspaper "Strike on the Enemy" in 1942.


Pictures depicting soldiers of the Leningrad front can be distinguished separately. The gallery of portraits of pilots and sailors was created by Georgy Semenovich Vereysky (1886-1962). Yuri Mikhailovich Neprintsev (1909 - 1996) painted small portraits of his Baltic comrades-in-arms and pilots who were covering the "Road of Life" during the flights.


Works by non-professional artists are also interesting. Mikhail Pavlovich Dukhanov (1896-1969) commanded the 67th Army of the Leningrad Front, which participated in breaking the siege. Dukhanov created the drawing "Siege of Leningrad", which depicts the moment of the tragic death of a young girl under the ruins of a destroyed house.


The date 27 January 1944, the day of the complete liberation of Leningrad from the siege, has always remained in people's memory. The festive drawing "Heroic Leningrad" by brothers Semyon and Stepan Aladzhalovs depicts the moment of general rejoicing and joy. The first salute in Leningrad illuminates the dark winter sky.


In total, the exhibition will feature about 30 works.

Comments

Публикация от: 18.12.2019 16:33:16

Блокадная графика: подвиг, повседневная жизнь, память.

Главное здание музея
Выставка
Бесплатно
Описание

Выставка представляет произведения художников, переживших блокаду Ленинграда - Елены Марттилы, Николая Муратова, Алексея Пахомова, Александра Харшака и других авторов. Среди этих работ есть как законченные произведения, так и эскизы, далекие от канонов советского официального искусства. Некоторые работы будут экспонироваться впервые.

Ценность представленных на выставке произведений в том, что их создавали очевидцы событий. Выставка рассказывает о трагедии блокады через опыт и воспоминания людей, которые жили и работали в осажденном городе. Среди рисунков и гравюр - натурные зарисовки, портреты, пейзажи. Они отражают повседневную жизнь Ленинграда, страдания и героизм его защитников.

Особое место в музейной коллекции блокадного искусства занимают работы Елены Оскаровны Марттилы (1923 г. р.). Художница училась и работала в осажденном городе до 1943 года, пережив самые тяжелые блокадные дни. Именно тогда она написала портреты своих знаменитых современников - поэтессы Ольги Берггольц и композитора Дмитрия Шостаковича. Работы Марттилы долгое время официально не признавались – слишком эмоциональными и трагическими они были. На выставке представлены автолитографии из серии «Ленинградцы 1941 – 42 гг.».

С первых дней войны ленинградские художники вместе с жителями города выполняли работы по маскировке зданий и памятников, по упаковке для эвакуации музейных ценностей, строили оборонительные сооружения. Театральная художница Татьяна Эмильевна Визель (1904 – 1976) принимала участие в сохранении архитектурно-художественных памятников Ленинграда. На небольшом рисунке тушью, сделанном во время работ на шпиле Адмиралтейства, Визель запечатлела свою напарницу – Ольгу Афанасьевну Фирсову, которая с самого начала блокады занималась маскировкой памятников, а потом и их восстановлением. Обе девушки в мирное время были спортсменками-альпинистками, и эти спортивные навыки пригодились им в военную пору.

Типичные натурные зарисовки на протяжении всего времени блокады делал Николай Евгеньевич Муратов (1908 – 1992). Художник известен как один из организаторов творческого объединения «Боевой карандаш», автор множества политических плакатов. Беглые зарисовки, изображающие боевой отряд у Смольного или блокадный трамвай, показывают, как жил город в военную пору.

Одно из наиболее впечатляющих антивоенных произведений на выставке - офорт «Раненый ребенок» Александра Исааковича Харшака (1908– 1989). Основой для него послужил рисунок для газеты «Удар по врагу» 1942 года.

Отдельно можно выделить рисунки, изображающие бойцов Ленинградского фронта. Галерею портретов летчиков и моряков создал Георгий Семёнович Верейский (1886–1962). Юрий Михайлович Непринцев (1909 – 1996) написал небольшие портреты своих боевых товарищей-балтийцев, а также летчиков, прикрывавших во время вылетов «Дорогу жизни».

Интересны и работы непрофессиональных художников. Михаил Павлович Духанов (1896–1969) командовал 67-й армией Ленинградского фронта, участвовавшей в прорыве блокады. Духанов создал рисунок «Блокадный Ленинград», на котором запечатлел момент трагической гибели молодой девушки под руинами разрушенного дома.

Навсегда осталась в памяти людей дата 27 января 1944 года, день полного освобождения Ленинграда от блокады. На праздничном рисунке «Героический Ленинград» братьев Семёна и Степана Аладжаловых запечатлен момент всеобщего ликования и радости. Первый салют в Ленинграде освещает темное зимнее небо.

Всего на выставке будет представлено около 30 произведений.

Комментарии

Публикация от: 18.12.2019 16:33:16