Please, enroll me as a volunteer...

18 Jun–19 Oct 2021All exhibitions
THE MAIN BUILDING
Exhibition
Description

The exhibition is dedicated to the volunteer movement during the Great Patriotic War and presents a unique collection of applications with requests to be sending to the front, received by the museum in the mid-1940s.

The citizens of the Soviet Union found out about the attack of the fascist Germany and the beginning of the Great Patriotic War on June 22, 1941 from the radio announcement of the Commissar of Foreign Affairs Vyacheslav Molotov. He called the war "the Great Patriotic War" for the very first time in his speech, and the final phrases: "Our mission is right. The enemy will be defeated. Victory will be ours!" - would become its main slogans.

On June 23, in accordance with the Decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR, a general mobilization of persons between 23 and 36 years old, was announced. Many people, for various reasons, exempted from conscription, besieged the military committees and recruiting offices in factories, district committees of the Communist Party and Komsomol with a request to send them to the front as volunteers.

On June 27, the sixth day of the war, at the meeting of the Leningrad Committee of the CPSU(b) it was decided to form an army of volunteers to defend the city. Thus began the history of the Leningrad People's Militia Army.

The volunteer applications, presented at the exhibition, were submitted to the District Military Registration and Enlistment Office of the Dzerzhinsky District of Leningrad in June-July 1941. These testimonies make it possible to feel the emotional mood of those who wrote them, and show the general patriotic enthusiasm of the Soviet people. Visitors will see about 50 statements supplemented with personal information about the volunteers. Biographical information about them was obtained by the study of electronic databases of participants in the Great Patriotic War.

The militiamen's fates were different. Volunteers were inferior to the enemy, and in arms and military skills, suffered huge losses, but still played an important role in the defensive battles of the first period of the war. Among the heroes of the exhibition you can see the volunteer who was missing at the "Nevsky Piglet", the soldier who died in Finnish captivity, and the militiaman who reached Berlin. There is among them a nurse, who worked all the war in the same medical battalion, first near Leningrad, then in the Baltics, Poland and ended the war on the border with Czechoslovakia.

The exhibition launches a long-term museum project dedicated to volunteerism. Biographical materials and family stories related to the heroes of the exhibition will be posted on the museum website and will be added with new materials.

Comments

Публикация от: 15.06.2021 12:08:51

«Прошу зачислить меня добровольцем…»

Главное здание музея
Выставка
Описание

Выставка посвящена добровольческому движению в период Великой Отечественной войны и представляет уникальную коллекцию заявлений с просьбой об отправке на фронт, поступившую в музей в середине 1940-х годов.

О нападении фашистской Германии и начале Великой Отечественной войны жители Советского Союза узнали 22 июня 1941 года из выступления по радио наркома иностранных дел В. М. Молотова. В его речи начавшаяся война впервые была названа «Великой Отечественной», а финальные фразы: «Наше дело правое. Враг будет разбит. Победа будет за нами!» - станут ее основными лозунгами.

С 23 июня, в соответствии с Указом Президиума Верховного Совета СССР, была объявлена всеобщая мобилизация военнообязанных в возрасте от 23 до 36 лет. Множество людей, по разным причинам освобожденных от призыва, осаждали военкоматы и призывные пункты на предприятиях, в райкомах ВКП(б) и ВЛКСМ с просьбами отправить их на фронт добровольцами.

27 июня, на шестой день войны, на совещании в Ленинградском горкоме ВКП(б) было решено в помощь кадровым частям Красной армии сформировать для защиты города армию, набранную из числа добровольцев. Так началась история Ленинградской армии народного ополчения (ЛАНО).

Заявления добровольцев, представленные на выставке, были поданы в райвоенкомат Дзержинского района Ленинграда в июне–июле 1941 года. Эти свидетельства позволяют прочувствовать эмоциональный настрой писавших их людей, показывают всеобщий патриотический подъем советских людей. Посетители увидят около 50 заявлений, дополненных личными сведениями о добровольцах. Биографические сведения о них были получены в результате изучения электронных баз данных участников Великой Отечественной войны.

Судьбы ополченцев сложились по-разному. Добровольцы уступали противнику и в вооружении, и в военных навыках, несли огромные потери, но все же сыграли важную роль в оборонительных боях первого периода войны. В числе героев выставки – и доброволец, пропавший без вести на «Невском пятачке», и боец, умерший в финском плену, и ополченец ЛАНО, дошедший до Берлина. Есть среди них и медсестра, проработавшая всю войну в одном и том же медсанбате сначала под Ленинградом, затем в Прибалтике, Польше и закончившая войну на границе с Чехословакией.

Выставка открыла долгосрочный музейный проект, посвященный добровольчеству. На нашем сайте вы можете ознакомиться с полным перечнем добровольцев, чьи материалы хранятся в музее, увидеть поданные ими заявления и краткие биографические данные. Если вы нашли в списке своего родственника или просто располагаете сведениями о ком-то из этих людей, напишите нам по адресу polithistory@mail.ru

Комментарии

Публикация от: 15.06.2021 12:08:51